Broadway Luminaries Salute The 2018 Freddie G Fellowship Teachers

Broadway Luminaries Salute The 2018 Freddie G Fellowship Teachers

Eight outstanding educators from schools and performing arts centers around the country were selected to work one-on-one with Broadway greats at the 9 th Annual FREDDIE G FELLOWSHIP which just wrapped in New York City. The event was underwritten by Myrna and Freddie ("G") Gershon, Co-Chairman of leading theatrical licensor Music Theatre International (MTI). The four days of events honored instructors and teachers who are working to make a difference for their students and communities through the process of staging musical theatre productions in their schools and educational theatre groups.

Twenty-four Broadway greats sent their greetings and thanks to the teachers via a DVD They are:

Alan Menken - Composer (Beauty and the Beast, Aladdin, Little Shop of Horrors)

Stephen Schwartz - Composer (Godspell, Pippin and Wicked)

Baayork Lee - Director, Actor & Choreographer (A Chorus Line, My One and Only, Promises Promises)

Chad Beguelin - Playwright (Disney's Aladdin, Elf, The Wedding Singer)

Jerry Mitchell - Director & Choreographer (Hairspray, Legally Blonde, La Cage Aux Folles)

Nell Benjamin - Composer, Lyricist & Screenwriter (Mean Girls, Legally Blonde, The Explorers Club) =

Justin Paul & Benj Pasek - Songwriters (Dear Evan Hansen, La La Land, A Christmas Story, The Musical)

Jeff Calhoun - Director, Choreographer, Producer & Dancer (Newsies, Jekyll & Hyde, Big River)

Andrew Lippa - Composer, Lyricist, Book-writer, Performer & Producer (Big Fish, I Am Harvey Milk, The Addams Family)

Jason Robert Brown - Composer, Lyricist & Playwright (The Bridges of Madison County, Honeymoon in Vegas, Urban Cowboy)

Carolyn Meehan - Mrs. Thomas Meehan - (Annie, The Producers, Hairspray)

Martin Charnin - Lyricist, Book-writer & Director (Annie, Annie Warbucks, S'Wonderful, S'Marvelous, S'Gershwin)

James Lapine - Director, Playwright, Screenwriter & Librettist (Into the Woods, Falsettos, Sunday in the Park with George)

John Weidman - Librettist & Screenwriter (Assassins, big, The Musical, Contact)

Jeffrey Seller - Producer (Hamilton, Rent, Avenue Q)

Steven Levenson - Playwright, Producer & Television Writer (Dear Evan Hansen, The Language of Trees, Masters of Sex)

Phil Birsh - President & Publisher of Playbill, Inc.

Marcy Heisler & Zina Goldrich - Lyricist & Composer (Junie B. Jones, Junie B's Essential Survival Guide to School, Hollywood Romance)

Seth Rudetsky - Musician, Actor, Writer & Radio Host (Disaster! "Seth's Big Fat Broadway" and "Seth Speaks" on Sirius/XM Satellite Radio's On Broadway

Scott Wittman & Marc Shaiman - Lyricist & Composer/Lyricist (Hairspray, Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, Catch Me If You Can)

Dick Scanlan - Writer, Director & Actor (Thoroughly Modern Millie, Everyday Rapture)

Ken Billington - Lighting Designer (Sunday in the Park with George, Side by Side by Sondheim, Chicago)

Thomas Schumacher - Producer & President of Disney Theatrical Group (Beauty and The Beast, The Lion King, Frozen)

Kristen Anderson-Lopez & Robert Lopez - Songwriters (Frozen, The Book of Mormon, Avenue Q)

Stephen Flaherty - Composer (Once on This Island, Anastasia, Ragtime)

Bernadette Peters - Actress, Singer & Author (Hello Dolly!, Sunday in the Park with George, Into the Woods)

Stephen Sondheim - Composer & Lyricist

The information regarding this esteemed list is not all inclusive - but reflects the high quality and diversity of the community supportive of the Freddie G teachers.